The process of locking an appointment that is not locked, or removing a lock from an existing appointment begins with viewing the current appointment.
You can do this by clicking on the Schedule page.
For this example, we will focus on the January 17th appointment of Amanda Berg to the course "Bernard-103-Math"
We take note of the following items in the current appointment:
- Course Name
- Appointment Type
In this instance, we need to keep in mind that the student is scheduled to "Bernard-103-Math" and the appointment type is "Extra Help".
In addition, notice that the "locked" icon is missing, indicating that this specific appointment is currently un-locked.
Clicking the Schedule button will allow us to change the appointment details.
Adjusting an Appointment
Notice how the appointment displays.
The department has been selected, but the course is not. In addition, the options for overwriting and locking are unchecked. The "Appt Locked" checkbox will reflect the current state of the appointment.
Since this appointment was not locked, the corresponding checkbox is not selected.
At this point, we need to select the course name (Bernard-103-Math), then adjustments to the "Appt Locked" property can be made.
In this instance, the appointment will now be locked by checking "Appt Locked", and to ensure that the change is saved, we are sure to check the "Overwrite Existing Appts" option which will allow the new appointment to over write the old one.
Once the we have made the needed changes, the Save button can be clicked.
In this instance, we have set the option to prevent changes to the appointment, so the resulting appointment will now indicate this back on the Scheduling page
Failing to Check the Overwrite Checkbox
If you forget to check the "Overwrite" option, an error message is displayed when you attempt to save the appointment, and the save fails.
If you receive this message, the application is simply indicating that you need to check the "Overwrite" option on the appointment page before clicking Save.